Alameda Health System/Highland Hospital

Grateful thanks to Dr. Jonathan Hernandez, Site Director

Highland Hospital in Alameda is the most enduring partnership of the CPMC ophthalmology residency. Thanks to a former resident, Dr. Homer Brugge who was in charge of the Alameda County Hospital (Highland) in 1960, residents were welcomed to train in Alameda when the residency program was undergoing a significant upheaval.  Today, they continue to serve rotations at Highland and at the Eastmont Wellness Center.

Residents spend 8 months of their training at Highland Hospital which is a Level 1 Trauma Center and the most active emergency room in Alameda County. The high-volume clinic serves a diverse patient population with many patients presenting with complex disease processes and surgical needs.

CPMC residents are well supported by a cadre of rotating attendings, representing every subspeciality in ophthalmology, improving patient’s access to these services and providing a rich learning environment for the trainees. This, in combination with the motivated and professional clinic staff, creates a positive, team-oriented environment.

Patients within the Alameda system are able to receive the majority of their care in a single location where diagnostics and pre-operative testing can all be performed in the same building as their upcoming surgery or procedure.

Drs. Homer Brugge and Jamie Shapiro were active faculty members prior to Dr. David Vastine who was named Chief of the eye department at Highland Hospital in 1976. Vastine was recruited by Dr. Bruce Spivey to fully incorporate the service into the CPMC residency and he along with David DeMartini were responsible for the program prior to Dr Richard Imes who served as Chief from 1994 to 2020. Today, Dr. Jonathan Hernandez is Chief of the service. He is a graduate of the CPMC residency and completed a fellowship in Glaucoma at UC Davis.

Current and past faculty members include Drs. Eugene Lowry, Edie DeNiro, Roger Goldberg, Caesar Luo, Michael Jumper, Judy Chen, Kasra Eliasieh, Barry Snyder, Richard Imes, Shaily Shah, Azam Qureshi, Andrew and Robert Sorenson, Steven Pascal, Phillip Penrose, Jane Loman, Mira Lim, Vincent Ray, Enoch Nam, Michael Hemond, Sam Reiter and Tushar Ranchod.